SMHS Teacher Success Stories


As you may recall, some time ago I sent out an all-staff email requesting success stories from any of you that would be willing to share. I had said that there is so much talent right here on campus that we could all profit from hearing from colleagues about what has been working for us. It could be a simple strategy or activity that produced nice results (such as Dovas Z’s “Weekend Stories”), or something more involved.

In the past couple of weeks, I have received two great examples of teachers finding a way to help a struggling student. One is from Christy Lozano and the other is from Rebecca Frank. In each case, collaboration and persistence seem to be the key. I will start off by posting Christy’s response, as it was the first I received. I will follow with Rebecca’s in another post before too long. I give my thanks to both colleagues for stepping up.

I would love to hear from anyone else who has an account of an experience that might add to the conversation, whether it is your experience or something you have heard about a colleague. Thanks in advance for taking the time to read this and the success stories to follow.

-Phil Levien, SMHS English Teacher

Leave a Reply

